Geno Gniadek Spirit Award

The Geno Spirit Award is given to the player in the Majors Division who shows the most love and appreciation for the game, their teammates, and coaches. 

In Memory of Geno Gniadek October 2, 1996 - June 15, 2010

Geno was a happy and special boy who loved his family, baseball and animals. He was the love of his parents lives, their hope for the future and their inspiration. All of their lives changed forever in April of 2010 when Geno was diagnosed with Hepato Cellular Carcinoma, a type of liver cancer rare in children and very aggressive. Geno endured many surgeries, procedures and a lengthy stay in an Intensive Care unit. He fought harder than most adults ever could. Despite this, on June 15, 2010 Geno lost his battle with Hepato Cellular Carcinoma. He was 13 years old. He is survived by his parents, Katy Cairo and Gene Gniadek, and the innumerable memories of his courage, love and kindness.


Past Winners

Past Winners of the Geno Award:

  • 2010 Carlos Calderon
  • 2011 Peter Alamillo
  • 2012 Christian Katalinic
  • 2013 Mike Pendelski
  • 2014 Lorenzo Penzado
  • 2015 Evan Reynolds
  • 2016 Omar Briones
  • 2017 Leo Romano
  • 2018 Izzy Garcia
  • 2019 Grant Leff
  • 2020 Jacob Jelinek
  • 2021 Paulo Valenciana
  • 2022 Liam Sheehan
  • 2023 Noah Romero